how to get a divorce in iowa with no children and no lawyer

by Judson Bechtelar IV 6 min read

If you want to file for divorce or are responding to a divorce your spouse has filed without using an attorney, you must use the forms in chapter 17 of the Iowa Court Rules. The forms are available free of charge on this website. There is a set of forms for divorce with no minor or dependent adult children and a Guide (PDF) on using those forms.

Full Answer

Is it easy to get a divorce in Iowa without a lawyer?

Divorce in Iowa. The decision to get a divorce is never an easy one. However, now that you have arrived at this decision, you are probably looking for the simplest way to get a divorce available. Fortunately, the divorce process in Iowa is fairly straightforward and you might be able to complete it without a lawyer.

Is Iowa a no-fault divorce state?

HELPFUL TIPS! STEP 3:CONTESTED OR UNCONTESTED DIVORCE? STEP 4: DO IT YOURSELF OR HIRE AN ATTORNEY? Original Notice for Personal Service. Iowa is a no-fault state, meaning that you only need to show that your marriage is broken and cannot be fixed.

Where do I find divorce laws in Iowa?

Iowa Law Overview In Iowa, divorce is formally known as "dissolution of marriage," a term that is legally synonymous with divorce. Applicable Iowa laws may be found in chapter 598 of the Iowa Code, and forms are found in chapter 17 of the Iowa Court Rules.

How do I get a divorce with no adult children?

There is a set of forms for divorce with no minor or dependent adult children and a Guide (PDF) on using those forms. There is a different set of forms for divorce with minor or dependent adult children and a Guide (PDF) on using that set of forms. It is very important you read the Guide for the divorce forms.


How do I get a free divorce in Iowa?

You can file a divorce in Iowa without an attorney. The Iowa Courts website now has free forms for couples with children as well as the forms for couples with no children. You must use these forms to file a divorce in Iowa without an attorney. You should not pay for forms from other websites.

How much does an uncontested divorce cost in Iowa?

There is no separate process for an uncontested divorce in Iowa, and thus, there is no difference in cost to file for divorce, whether contested or uncontested. The current filing fee to be submitted with a petition for divorce in Iowa is $265.

Can I give divorce without a lawyer?

A mutual consented divorce is an easier and faster way you can get a divorce without a lawyer. For obtaining a divorce mutually, both the parties must agree that the divorce should take place, and decided on other relevant factors.

How long do you have to be separated before divorce in Iowa?

a 90 dayHow long do you have to be separated before divorce in Iowa? While there is a 90 day waiting period between filing for divorce and when a divorce could be legally granted, Iowa does not have legal separation requirements.

Can you get a quick divorce?

It Is Possible to Get a Quick Divorce The divorce process does not have to take years or even months. If you're able to come to an agreement with your spouse about custody, visitation, spousal support, and division of property, your divorce can proceed through divorce court rather quickly.

How much does it cost to file for divorce Iowa?

$265You will need to electronically file a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage and pay the $265 filing fee. The petition, together with an original notice, must then be served on the respondent; there may be an additional cost for having the petition served on the respondent.

Can I divorce without going to court?

An uncontested divorce is one in which you and your spouse work together to agree on the terms of your divorce. You will both consult with the same attorney, who will be unbiased and impartial. There is no formal trial, and only the plaintiff appears in court.

What is an uncontested divorce?

In an uncontested divorce, both spouses agree on all of their divorce-related issues rather than going to trial and having a judge make those decisions for them.

Is one sided divorce possible?

One-sided divorce takes place when one spouse has the grounds for separation and wishes to end the marriage. As the name suggests, the husband and wife contest each other to get the most out of a divorce proceeding and hire a divorce lawyer in India to represent their interest.

How do I start the divorce process in Iowa?

How can I start a divorce?You must fill out a form called a petition. You must give the court information about you, your spouse and your marriage. ... You file a copy of the petition in the county Court.You must "serve" (give a copy) the petition to your spouse.

What are grounds for divorce in Iowa?

The only grounds for dissolution of marriage in Iowa are that there has been a breakdown of the marriage relationship to the extent that the legitimate objects of matrimony have been destroyed and there remains no reasonable likelihood that the marriage can be preserved.

Does Iowa require counseling before divorce?

Counseling Required: On request of either spouse or on its own, the court may order a 60-day counseling period called conciliation. If conciliation is ordered, the 90-day waiting period to grant a divorce starts when conciliation is completed.