how much is dui lawyer cost

by Dr. Dalton Grady 7 min read

As of 2021, the average cost of DUI lawyer falls somewhere in between a minimum of $700 and a maximum of $10,000 or more. In general, the severity of a crime will have a major impact in determining the total amount that a DUI attorney cost. You will also have to consider other details, such as whether this is your first or third DUI/DWI offense.

Generally speaking, a DUI case lasts for six to twelve months. An average DUI lawyer cost in 2020 would be $1,900 with additional fees resulting in a total cost of $5,000 to $8,000 for the whole process. Some especially serious cases could cost upwards of $10,000.Mar 24, 2021

Full Answer

What is the average price to hire a DUI lawyer?

The average DUI lawyer costs $1,900 while other fees average $4,000 for a total DUI cost of between $5,000 to $8,000. Your attorney fees will depend if you accept a plea or take your case to trial. DUI lawyers charge $700 to $1,500 when accepting a plea, and $1,500 to $4,000 when going to trial.

How much should you pay a lawyer for a DUI?

  • Anywhere between $100 and $2,500+ to be bailed from jail.
  • Between $100 and $1,000+ for towing and impound fees, depending on your location and situation.
  • Up to $250 for a sentencing fee and $100-$1,000+ for probation.
  • Approximately $100 if you're required to take drug screening as part of a condition of probation or bail.

More items...

How to become a successful DUI lawyer?

Some key factors to consider when selecting the best criminal lawyer for you:

  • Knowledge and experience of court procedure and handling your type of case. ...
  • Experience and good relationships with prosecutors and judges to assist negotiating the best outcome in plea deals.
  • Proactive techniques to get charges dismissed or reduced before getting to court.
  • Clear communication and a good personality that works well with you.

More items...

Is a DUI lawyer worth the cost?

The cost of a good DUI attorney is worth it, if you spend $2500 and they save you thousands in fines, grief and punishment so you can have your life back. How much does a DUI lawyer charge? Idaho state bar rules will influence how much a DUI attorney will cost, whether you take your case to trial or you want to accept a plea (less expensive) will influence the DUI legal fees.


What is the highest cost of a DUI?

Average Costs of a DUI or DWI Arrest and ConvictionExpenseCostHigher Insurance Premiums$4,500-$10,000Defense Attorney$2,500-$5,000Court Fines$150-$1,800Alcohol Treatment/Education$1,000-$2,50013 more rows

What is the penalty for first offense DUI in Georgia?

GEORGIA DUI CONSEQUENCES IF CONVICTED OF THE DUI: If this is your first DUI conviction, the maximum consequences are a fine of $1,000 and up to 12 months in jail. The minimum consequences are 24 hours in jail, which may still be waived, and a $300.00 fine.

How much is a DUI attorney in California?

For a first-time misdemeanor DUI, a DUI attorney generally costs in the ballpark of $1,500 to $5,000. A California DUI Lawyer Association (CDLA) Specialist often starts at $2,500 – $4,500.

How much does a DUI lawyer cost in Florida?

The cost of a DUI attorney ranges depending on the level of experience, skill, and reputation that an attorney might have. A novice attorney will cost less than one with an established reputation. If your DUI in Florida is a misdemeanor offense, attorney fees will range from around $1,500 to $7,500.

How many points is a DUI in Ga?

In Georgia, a DUI conviction will result in an automatic of suspension of your Georgia driver's license (or privilege to drive in Georgia). Therefore, technically, no points will be assessed on your driving record as a result of a DUI conviction.

Is probation mandatory for DUI Georgia?

DUI Probation in Georgia is part of virtually every DUI plea or jury trial conviction for driving under the influence. The reason for this article about being on probation for DUI is that probation is mandatory under OCGA 40-6-391, the DUI statute in Georgia.

How much is a first offense DUI in California?

For a first-offense DUI in California, consequences for conviction generally include three years of informal probation, fines of $390 plus “penalty assessments” (totally approximately $2000, and completing a first offender alcohol program that consists of a 30-hour class, at a cost of about $500.

How much does a first time DUI cost in California?

$390 to $1,000Fine for first DUI: A first misdemeanor DUI in California carries $390 to $1,000 in fines plus a number of penalty assessments and fees that can raise the total up to $3,600. First DUI jail time: up to 6 months. License: Criminal courts can impose a 6 month suspension for a first time DUI in California.

How much is a DUI 2021 California?

Fines for most DUI cases range between $390 and $1,000. Court penalties. Court “administrative assessments” are set primarily by local government. They are meant to reflect the cost the local court bears in handling the DUI case, so that the person “guilty” of the crime can pay that cost instead of taxpayers.

Do first time DUI offenders go to jail in Florida?

Criminal Penalties You May Face for a First-Time DUI Conviction. A conviction for a first-time DUI offense in the state of Florida could cost you as much as $1,000, up to six months in jail, the possibility of losing your driver's licenses for up to six months, and fifty hours of community service.

How much is Bond for DUI in Florida?

First time DUI, bail is set at $1,000, Second DUI your bail bond will increase to $5,000. The amount of your DUI bail and the procedures for making bond will depend on the criminal laws of the County you are arrested in. One is considered to be driving under the influence in Florida when your blood alcohol level is .

How long is a DUI on your record in Florida?

75 yearsWhile most states keep a DUI on your record for a minimum of ten years, Florida will keep a DUI conviction on your record for 75 years. The Sunshine State will not allow any DUI convictions to be expunged.

How much does a DUI lawyer charge?

Your attorney fees will depend if you accept a plea or take your case to trial. DUI lawyers charge $700 to $1,500 when accepting a plea, and $1,500 to $4,000 when going to trial.

How much does a DUI attorney charge per hour?

The first option is hourly, which typically costs an average of $300 per hour. Depending on the lawyer and location, you may pay $200 to $500 per hour. The key advantage here is that if your case is resolved quickly, you will not overpay. You will only be billed the short time period in which the DUI attorney worked on your case.

How much does an ignition interlock cost?

This machine will cost around $100 to install, in addition to a monthly fee that ranges for $60 to $80. The length of time you're required to keep this device in your car will depend on where you live as well as your conviction.

How much is a DUI fine in Florida?

For example, in Florida, a standard first-offense DUI carries an average fine between $500 and $1,000. However, if your blood alcohol concentration is above .15% or a passenger under the age of 18 was present in the vehicle, you will face a fine closer to $2,000.

How much does a flat rate attorney cost?

In comparison, a flat rate is a fee that covers the entire course of your case. Depending on your circumstances, expect to pay around $3,000 in flat rate attorney fees with most offering a payment plan.

How much does it cost to get your license reinstated after a DUI?

Once you are eligible to reinstate your license, this fee depends on your state. For example, in California, this fee is $125, and in Washington, this fee is $150.

How much does a public defender cost?

Those who are represented by a public defender tend to spend an average of $5,500 on their case, including between $700 and $800 on DUI lawyer fees. However, the cost of a public defender significantly ranges depending on numerous factors, including the state in which you reside. For example, in California, defendants are required to pay an upfront registration fee of $50.

Can I get a public defender for a DUI?

The fee practices discussed in this article are for private DUI lawyers. If you can’t afford a private attorney, you may be able to get a public defender for your DUI case. You usually have to go through financial screening process to determine if you’re eligible. Depending on the circumstances, defendants represented by court-appointed lawyers may have to reimburse the government for part of the cost.

Do DUI lawyers charge by the hour?

Occasionally, attorneys bill by the hour (usually in smaller increments, like 15 minutes) for working on DUI cases. Typically, this happens when a lawyer has to withdraw from representing the client before the case is resolved; the attorney will then send a bill charging for the work performed at an hourly rate. Also, lawyers who don’t specialize in handling DUI cases may use hourly fees because that’s their normal billing practice.