how much for a lawyer reckless driving

by Sabrina Huel PhD 7 min read

Reckless Driving Tickets Will Cost You
The attorney's fee for reckless driving generally will vary. Defendants can expect to find attorneys across the range of talent and expertise. Attorneys may charge as little as $100, or they may charge $5,000-$10,000, depending on the severity of the charge.

Full Answer

Should you hire a reckless driving lawyer?

Should I Hire a Nassau County Reckless Driving Lawyer? Reckless driving charges are incredibly serious, and should not be taken lightly. Due to the severe nature of this violation, it is important to work with experienced legal counsel to protect your rights. Our attorneys will work diligently to get your charges dismissed or significantly reduced.

How much does a Virginia reckless driving lawyer cost?

There are two ways that attorneys structure their fees: (1) Hourly, and (2) Flat Fees. The standard hourly fee for attorneys in Virginia is between $250-$500 an hour. However, at Peter John Louie, P.C., we don’t like the hourly model because it means focusing less on the facts and strategy of your case and spending more time looking at the clock.

Should I get a lawyer for reckless driving?

The department is also taking additional measures in partnership with area agencies to combat reckless driving, such as a pilot program to enforce bus stop-arm enforcement and protect children traveling to and from schools. MPD said this grant will only help enhance its ongoing reckless driving enforcement efforts.

Do I need an attorney for a reckless driving charge?

You do need an attorney to defend against a reckless driving charge. A reckless driving charge is not just a glorified traffic infraction, it is a criminal misdemeanor charge. In Virginia, traffic laws are very tough.

image

How much is a lawyer for reckless driving in VA?

If you want an inexperience and/or high volume lawyer, then probably about $500. If you want an experienced lawyer who will do just your case, depending upon the complexity, $950 for the simplest case and $1,600 – $2,200 for complex cases or speeds greater than 100 mph.

Should I hire an attorney for reckless driving in VA?

Since reckless driving in VA is a criminal offense, the penalties and long term consequences—such as a criminal record—can be severe. It is in your best interest to consult with a Virginia reckless driving attorney before making any decisions.

How can I reduce my reckless driving ticket in Virginia?

As long as you do not possess a commercial driver's license, the judge is permitted to be lenient in cases of reckless driving by recommending that you attend a driver improvement clinic or perform community service in lieu of the normal penalties for the charge.

Do I have to go to court for reckless driving in Virginia?

Virginia treats reckless driving as a crime, which means you can't just pay the ticket and make it go away. You'll have to appear in court to enter a plea, and if you plead not guilty you have to go through the process of hearings and maybe even a trial.

Can you go to jail for reckless driving Virginia?

Reckless Driving in Virginia Reckless driving is not merely a moving violation, it is a criminal charge. Reckless driving is usually a Class 1 misdemeanor and is punishable by up to one year in jail, six months suspended driver's license, six points on your driving record in Virginia, and a fine of up to $2,500.

How long does reckless driving stay on record in VA?

11 yearsAdults have two records: A DMV record and a criminal record. Reckless driving stays on your DMV record for 11 years but on your criminal record forever. In Virginia, you cannot have a reckless driving conviction expunged or removed from your criminal record.

Is reckless driving a felony in VA?

Reckless driving in VA is not a felony (with rare exceptions). Whether you were charged with § 46.2-862 Reckless Driving by Speed, § 46.2-852 General Reckless Driving, or one of the other 12 types of reckless driving in VA, you have been charged with a class 1 misdemeanor.

Is 85 mph reckless in Virginia?

Many people also found it problematic that other states' thresholds were 15 mph or more above the posted speed limit for a reckless driving charge. The new amendment to Virginia code raises the Virginia reckless driving speed to 85 miles per hour regardless of the speed limit.

Is 20 over the speed limit reckless driving in Virginia?

Virginia Code Section 46.2-862 indicates that a person can be found guilty of reckless driving by speed if the motorist: Travels 20 miles per hour or more over the applicable maximum speed limit.

Is 80 mph reckless driving in Virginia?

The Virginia Code specifies that a driver traveling in excess of 80 mph or greater ― or traveling 20 mph or more over the posted speed limit ― will automatically receive a ticket for reckless driving. Penalties for reckless driving tend to be significantly higher than those for standard speeding tickets.

What's considered reckless driving in VA?

Under Virginia law, reckless driving is considered any action behind the wheel that is reckless or at a speed that endangers the life, limb, or property of another person.

Is reckless driving a criminal offense?

If there are damages and injuries as a result of reckless driving, then the Revised Penal Code will be applied. According to DOJ, "depending on the extent of damages caused, a person may be charged with crimes such as physical injuries, damage to property or even homicide and murder."

How serious is reckless driving in Virginia?

Reckless driving crosses the mark from traffic infractions to a criminal charge, so it is a Class One misdemeanor. Class One misdemeanors come with a maximum fine of $2,500 and the possibility of jail time for up to 12 months, so it is serious. If a person gets charged and convicted, it is a serious charge.

Do you have to pay for a court appointed lawyer in Virginia?

Code §§ 16.1-266 and 16.1-267. Parents or guardians must complete a financial statement if a court-appointed lawyer for the juvenile is requested. Parents are liable for the costs of such counsel up to $120 when a lawyer is appointed in the J&DR court and the parents are deemed financially able to pay. However, Va.

Hourly Versus Flat Fee

There are two ways that attorneys structure their fees: (1) Hourly, and (2) Flat Fees. The standard hourly fee for attorneys in Virginia is between $250-$500 an hour. However, at Peter John Louie, P.C., we don’t like the hourly model because it means focusing less on the facts and strategy of your case and spending more time looking at the clock.

Jurisdiction of the Court Matter

This is the biggest determining factor of price since each city is different. For example, you should expect to pay less for reckless driving cases in Northampton County on the Eastern Shore because the court there is very streamlined.

Type of Charge, Number of Charges, and Jail Time

The facts and circumstances behind every charge are always unique. Each case requires its own fine-tuned approach. One case may require a substantial investment of time even though it appears very similar to another easier case.

How much does a lawyer charge to interview you?

Depending upon all those factors, legal fees could vary from around $500 to $1,500 and even up to $2,500 in some areas.

What questions should I ask a lawyer?

These are the types of questions you need to be asking lawyers when you interview us: 1 What punishments are you looking at? 2 What outcomes may be possible when working with an experienced reckless driving lawyer like myself? 3 Is jail time a serious risk or not?

What is a CDL in a moving violation case?

The case took one court date. The client was a licensed commercial driver (CDL) charged with a serious moving violation. In order to keep driving with his company and not suffer a suspension, the client needed the serious moving violation reduced to a nonmoving violation.

What can a traffic attorney do?

Traffic attorneys can help people facing charges or who have received a major ticket for speeding, DUI, hit and run, reckless driving, red light violations, radar tickets, and other traffic violations . Even for minor tickets, trained professionals can help reduce charges and sometimes prevent clients from getting points against their driver’s ...

How long is a traffic violation a misdemeanor?

This type of traffic offense is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a $2,500 fine. Through negotiations with the supervising attorney for the State's Attorney's Office, the offense was reduced from a misdemeanor to a petty offense (noncriminal) with court supervision (no conviction).

How much does Fenbert charge for traffic?

Fenbert of Fenbert & Associates typically charges $350 per court date for misdemeanor traffic offenses. These cases may include a motion hearing, a trial or a sentencing hearing with the judge.

image